Fitting it all in…

You CAN do it. You can fit it all in. Work. Family. Fitness. You just have to want to do it. Today I got up at 5:20. Ate my cereal and did 30 minutes of abs. Went to work. Taught all day. Picked up my kids. Walked my dog. Made dinner. Took kids to dance. And here is the opportunity that most people miss. I had one golden hour while they were at dance class. So, I went for a run. It was dark, no problem. I ran on a school track with lights. Picked up the kids. Ate dinner. Took a shower. Cleaned the kitchen. And now I’m done. And I feel so good about it all. I could have made a million excuses to skip a run, but I didn’t. No magic to it. I just knew that I would feel like crap if I didn’t run and I would feel good if I did run. I prefer to feel good, so I ran.

Now, if I tell this story to  anyone who doesn’t exercise, they will either roll their eyes or say that I am crazy to run when it is dark and 30 degrees on a track that is barely lit. But, when I got back to dance to pick up my children, I was bouncing off the walls with excitement and  enthusiasm and I had enough energy to get through my evening chores at home without whining!

Expending energy through exercise actually gives you more energy to get through the rest of the night!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Fitness category, Parenting category, Running category and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fitting it all in…

  1. Pingback: Motivating Others « Judithisbell's Blog

Leave a Reply

