Rethinking Food

They call it a healthy lifestyle because your entire lifestyle becomes impacted when you choose to become healthy. For example, it changes how you grocery shop. It changes how you view food. For instance, I want to eat healthy, so I have to start at the source.  If I want to make myself start eating a lot more fruits and veggies, then I need to buy the best tasting ones that I can find. Otherwise, I won’t enjoy the healthy food and I won’t continue to eat it. During spring and summer, farmer’s markets are great. But, the rest of the year, I mostly rely on grocery stores that bill themselves as having fresh, preferably organic, produce.

Here comes the lifestyle change. Ready? You will probably have to spend more on the better, fresher food. It’s funny how I had it ingrained in my mind that I shouldn’t spend much money on food. Like I should buy the very cheapest I could find. I don’t do that with other things. If I need to buy a new part for my car, I try to find the best quality part, even if it costs a little more. Why? Because I want my car to last a long time.

So, why don’t we do that with food? Here we are going to ingest something into our bodies, so that it becomes a part of us, and we are looking for a bargain. Why pay 99 cents a pound for a turkey, when I can get one for 33 cents? Interesting. We don’t care if one is healthier than the other, because we don’t prioritize our health. Think about that for a moment. We value money over our health. Are you thinking about that? Are you hearing yourself?

It’s a lifestyle change. Putting money into your health now will indeed save you money in the long run. It will save the cost of medications and doctors visits later.

And, here’s the big thing… We all took economics, right? If we all demand healthy meat and produce, the supply will increase and the cost will go down. Now I took economics a while ago, but I think that is the gist of it.

If you really want to become healthy, you need to change how you view food. It is nourishment. It is your fuel. Buy the best for your body, so it will last for a long time. Like your car.

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Glen Allen, Henrico, nutrition, Richmond and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

