Do the work yourself!

My legs ache, but I feel energized! My quest for speed has some side effects. Sore legs, strong legs muscles, strong heart, strong core muscles…Looks like the benefits outweigh the temporary pain after a good workout.

One great way to keep fit and to keep it fresh is to create goals for yourself. That’s so easy to do with running, because you can just sign up for a road race. In my case, I’ve run the races, now I want to run the races fast. So, I am focusing on speed work and tempo runs. What I am doing requires a lot of hard work and dedication, as any successful fitness plan does. But I WANT to do it and I think that is what makes it work.

I want to convince people that if they make themselves healthy, they will look better, feel better and live better quality lives. Not to mention they will  save money on health care. I know all the excuses. I’ve heard them all. Bad knees. Bad feet. Weak ankles. No time, etc…But, you will make time for things you think are important. And as far as those old injuries go, you simply start really slowly so that you build your muscles to support the activity before you overload yourself. And probably if you have injury issues, you need to lose weight, and just having less weight to cart around may cure your aches.

People dedicate themselves to other regular rituals designed to make them feel better and look better.  Make-up, manicures and pedicures, but how many people invest in what’s inside, rather than what’s on the outside. When you feel healthy and strong, your outsides just look good. You exude confidence and happiness, so you don’t have to hide behind make-up and fake nails.

Maybe I take it all to an extreme because I don’t wear any make-up. I could probably slop on some mascara and eyeliner and look a lot better. But, with my lifestyle, it will be smeared all under my eyes in no time at all. Because I sweat! on purpose! Every chance I get I am working my abs, doing yoga, lifting weights or running.The price I pay….hmmmm…healthy heart, strong core muscles, somewhat sculpted legs….I see the downside….NOT!

So dedicate yourself to a fitness goal  that you are going to actively achieve. Skip the mani/pedi appointment where someone else does the work for you and do the work yourself. Complete a race. Complete a race under a specific time. Walk for 30 minutes without stopping. The results will last a lifetime and you won’t rely on anyone else to make yourself feel good.

Do the work yourself and get healthy. It will save your life!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, Richmond, Running category and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

