Live a Long Life

Relationships are more important than my principles. I know, it seems wrong, but it’s right. We build relationships and we put so much of ourselves into relationships that we cherish. Yet, it can be stripped away so quickly if we push the right buttons. I  recognize that, and I avoid those particular buttons.

Unless I get really mad. Then I am pushing buttons like a game of Whack a Mole. But, that is not the right move if you want to preserve the relationships that you cherish. And not the point of this blog!

Healthy social relationships impact our health and longevity. Research supports that people who are connected socially and who have various social outlets, live longer, healthier lives. And it seems from what I have read that it is the happiness factor that you get from relationships that does it.

So, back to my original statement about relationships and principles.  Well, I don’t want to wreck my relationships just because I know I am right about something and I know the other person is wrong.  I am going to let it go because my relationship with this person is more important than who’s right.

Because it’s not enough I run marathons and eat an obnoxiously healthy diet, I need people to share that with or all the hard work is for nothing.

Live a long, happy life, full of friends, exercise and healthy foods!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, Richmond, Running category and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

