Setting Goals

If you are looking for a rush of adrenaline and a little sheer terror, hop on your treadmill and kick it up to 9-10 miles per hour.  My first reaction was “Holy Shit!” but that was just my mind talking. My legs kicked in, my arms were pumping and, well, it was either keep up or going flying off the back and crash into the wall. Easy choice.

I never in my wild dreams imagined that, at 45 years old, I would be working on increasing my running speed. How is it possible? I remember my first 5K. It was a decent time. I placed in my age group. I was satisfied. But, time passed, my family grew, my time became more demanding, I didn’t run as many races, and I never placed anymore when I did run.

Then I started running marathons. And running with a team. And forming running friendships. So, here I am at 45, trying to run my fastest marathon ever. And along the way to that goal, I want to run a 10K faster than I ran it when I was 35. Why? Who knows why. It’s just a goal. I try not to overthink.

Maybe that motivates you to run. Or to run faster. I hope to motivate you to get up and run. You may have to start with walking, but you can run. You can do it, if you want to do it. Just like me deciding I can run faster, as I am getting older. What? I’m at the age where women start blaming their age for their weight gains and ailments. I can’t give in like that. It’s a decision that I’ve made to not only be a runner, but to take my running to a new level.

A colleague of mine pointed out to me that your 30s are your best running years, according to some literature she had read.  You know what I say to that? What’s that expression? Oh, yeah… 45 is the new 30. See you at the finish line!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, Richmond, Running category and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Setting Goals

  1. rundadrun says:

    Great post! I am also in the position of not believing how far I have come in the last few years. It is something that I am passionate about sharing with others, since I have seen such great changes in my life through getting fit after a long layoff. Keep up the good work.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

Leave a Reply

