Running to Boost Immunity!

It’s hard to stay healthy when you work around children all day! I have been taking Vitamin C supplements and Echinacea to help boost my immune system. And I have been sticking with my exercise routine for the same reason.

But, I am confronted with runny noses, coughs and sneezes, mostly uncovered and pointing in my direction during Physical Education class. Or the worst is when I am bent down tying a shoe for a little friend, and all of a sudden, here comes a big cough, right in my face! Inside I freak out when this happens, but I try to turn it into a teachable moment when I explain how important it is to cover our coughs to prevent germs from spreading.

Too late for me at that point. And now I feel the onset of a cold coming. I’m sure sharing equipment with snotty fingers also contributes. Hence, the vitamin supplements. And I am only eating  superfoods since then. No added sugar, no junk, no chance of letting my immune system slip for a moment!

Alas, my nose runs, my body feels tired, but I am not giving in! I have a group run scheduled for tomorrow morning and I will be there! With a smile on my face, no less. Why? Because as hard as it may be to get out the door, I know, beyond any doubt, that I will feel energized and accomplished when I finish my run.  See you out there!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Athletes, Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, nutrition, Richmond, Running category, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

