Achieving a Boston Goal!

Well, I achieved my goal for the Richmond Marathon. In my last entry, I said that if I was feeling good that morning, I would strive for 3:55, and I finished in 3:54:07! It’s hard to believe. It’s been a long journey, yet it seems to have flown by! I have worked with such intensity for a year now and it really, truly paid off!

The first 5 miles went by quickly because we started running with my coach and several of my team members. It was entertaining because my coach is quite a character, oh and did I mention he was wearing a viking hat? That drew a lot of attention and comments from the crowd.

The next couple of miles were a breeze because there were plenty of fans to cheer us on and keep us excited. Plus, our daughters had safely driven to the 5 mile mark and that set my mind at ease that they would be at the 12 mile mark with no problem. We had practiced driving the course twice before the event to make sure they would know where they were going!

It seemed like next thing I knew we were at the half marathon point and I was feeling incredible. Well, two things were troublesome to be truthful. 1. I had to use the bathroom. 2. I knew I wasn’t going to stop for that.

Next up was the Lee Bridge. Yes, windy, but I love that bridge. The reason I love it is because of the War Memorial! There is an awesome statue of a woman inside. It feels like she is looking out over us, encouraging us. And, I think about all of the men and women who have given their lives to defend our country…and my marathon pales in comparison. Surely I can make it across the windy mile long bridge if so many before me have sustained much diversity !

I was nervous about Main Street, miles 17 and 18, because last year, I had some pain at mile 18, but I strode through  fine. When I say feeling fine, that is all relative of course. The bottom of my right foot hurt with every step and there was a big knot in my right calf. But, nothing that made me want to stop!

From here, I was just anxiously looking for the 20 mile clock to make sure my time said 2:anything! I did not want that clock to start with a 3! And it didn’t! That is what I was waiting for. Now, I knew that all I had to do was crank out a 10K in less than an hour and I would meet my goal.

Now, was that a good thing? Depends on how you look at it. One way to look at it is that I stopped pushing to maintain my pace where it was. So, what if I had not known my time so I had kept pushing? Who knows? Does it matter?

Two fabulous things were the result of the day:

1. My daughter and step daughter managed to drive and meet us along the course and they were safe. And, better yet, they were actually proud of me that day!

2. I MADE MY GOAL! I QUALIFIED FOR BOSTON MARATHON, THE HOLY GRAIL OF ALL MARATHONS!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Athletes, Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, marathon, Richmond, Running category and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

