Winter Running Challenges Continue

Slipping and falling on the ice was not a great start to my Shamrock marathon training program. I actually only missed one run. But, over the next couple of weeks, my runs were not the same quality, as I was in pain with every step. It was a dull achy pain, on my bottom, right where I had landed.

After a couple of weeks, I felt great. Unfortunately, only for a few days when all of a sudden, I had another set back. I self-diagnosed an upper respiratory infection, but whatever it was, it knocked me out of 9 days of running. Last Sunday was my first day back, and I felt so far behind! I was running much slower than I wanted to, and I was completely exhausted by the end.

Here’s the thing…Life happens and we have to adapt our workout schedules accordingly. This is when we have to just take each day as it comes. I had a speed workout schedule planned, which I am already a couple of weeks behind on. I could stress about it, or I could just change my plans.

Next week I will begin my speed workouts. I will run a tempo run, a long run and two easy runs. It’s that simple. Back to my regular schedule. No point in dwelling over the weeks I missed.

Happy winter running. Bundle up, don’t fall and try to stay away from viruses!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Athletes, Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, marathon, Richmond, Running category and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Running Challenges Continue

  1. cmarchong says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your training struggles. I know it is difficult for runners to training when they are injured or sick. The best part to this post is that you continue to get up and train. That show a lot of heart and determination. Great post and stay healthy for the marathon!!

Leave a Reply

