Goal Setting Works!

Wow! What an exhilarating experience actually feeling like I was racing a marathon! The Shamrock marathon in Virginia Beach was a flat course, but the winds made up for the lack of hills. The course was entertaining for me for a couple of reasons. One, I had some great company with me. And, two, I had never run that course, so it was interesting.

The only other marathon I have run is the Richmond Marathon. I have run it 6 times for 6 consecutive years. I am very proud of my progress and last November, I finally broke 4 hours with 3:54. But, funny how that wasn’t enough. I began training for Shamrock in December, hoping to cut 4 minutes off of my time.

Running has become an area of growth for me. It helps me focus on setting goals and on being healthier. It is such a great feeling to set a goal, work towards it and then be able to achieve it. And, in this case, I crushed it! Once I hit the stretch on Shore Drive, around 16-17 miles, I knew I was going to do it. I was feeling “it”. You know, that feeling where you just know you are going to do what you have set out to do.

So, during my last miles, I had to smile. Every time I checked my pace on my watch, I had to smile. I believed in myself. I believed in my ability. I made decisions about how hard I was going to push and how long I could keep it up. And it all worked! Amazing!

Setting goals by planning to run a race is an excellent way to get into a healthy routine. It can help anyone make lifestyle changes to include daily exercise. And having some people working towards the same goals is a great way to be held accountable.

Find a race, join a training team and set a personal goal. Valuable steps to changing your life in a positive way. Becoming healthier and meeting friends with the same goals!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, marathon, Richmond, Running category and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goal Setting Works!

  1. Great post! This is so true with not only running, but everything in life. Goals are required for success and keeping track of accomplishments. Set goals up ahead of time and see yourself shatter them. Great job on your PR for the marathon! I love your blog. It keeps me motivated.

  2. Gigi says:

    Congratulations on making – no exceeding! – your goal. I love this post because it reminds me to be specific and concrete in goal-setting. So, my question is, on those training days leading up to the race how did you stay motivated? Were there ever times when you didn’t believe you could do it? How did you switch it up to stay positive?

    • judithisbell says:

      Gigi, there were moments were I had setbacks-the flu, repeatedly falling on the ice, unexplained knee pain–but I just tried to remain positive and not focus on the possible negative outcomes. And on marathon day, I knew I had to do my best because everything felt right and you never know when that will happen again!

Leave a Reply

