Shoes?

I vote for shoes. And I vote for shoes from my favorite running store, 3 Sports. I have done my research and listened to fellow runners and non-runners. After sifting through the facts and the opinions, I just have to vote for shoes.

As a little girl growing up in Hanover County, I spent most of my summer barefoot. I can remember being outside playing and my Dad yelling out to me to take a ride with him. I would just run up and get in the truck and didn’t even have a thought about putting some shoes on. I can remember visiting people, going to the gas station, running here and there on errands, and I was shoeless.

Also when I was a little girl, I considered it a sense of accomplishment when my bath water would turn black. It symbolized to me a hard day’s work at play. You see, it’s not always a good idea to think that something I have done since I was a kid should be continued.

So, you see I am not a die hard shoe person. But, for goodness sakes, I was just a little girl then. Ignorance is indeed bliss. I have grown enough as a person to recognize the many advantages to protecting my feet.

Indeed, I  read “Born to Run” and I thought is was a pretty good story. I just don’t think it applies to me.  I don’t live in a  jungle and run on dirt paths, rather I travel on paved roads and cement sidewalks to my destinations. I don’t  have trees growing in my yard to use to construct my own shoes. And thank goodness, because I have zero arts and crafts skills.

I guess I am just not looking for anything different because I am very pleased with my running.  Because nothing comes more natural to me than me and my Mizuno Waveriders racing down the road, leaving my worries behind!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Athletes, Fitness category, Glen Allen, Health category, Henrico, marathon, Richmond, Running category, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

