Boston Training:)

It is an interesting transition between training to qualify for the Boston Marathon, to actually training to run the Boston Marathon! What an incredible journey in which I have solicited so many opinions and received many unsolicited opinions about how to train to run a qualifying race.

Now it is here. Boston training season. Certainly I don’t want to just show up and have fun! Definitely not one of those people who just goes and enjoys a race! My goal is to  set a personal record at Boston. Hills schmills! Ha! I can handle hills and perform better than ever!

I wouldn’t attempt this relying just on myself and the Internet to conquer my new goal. I am part of a training team and we have a great coach who has run the course many times. With his guidance, I will be prepared for downhills and uphills and adrenaline surges and huge crowds. I can’t wait.

In addition to my running team, I have a workout partner. We have incorporated cross training, essentially strength training, into our running schedule. I have become a stronger, faster runner on my daily runs, since I have added cross training days. Stronger muscles, especially core muscles, help me fight off fatigue, and my running form improves, thus my endurance improves.

But a lot of work is ahead of me. My advice to anyone running for a specific goal is:

1. Have support, like my training team

2. Add strength training to your workouts.

Good luck with your goals!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Athletes, Fitness category, Glen Allen, Henrico, marathon, Richmond, Running category, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boston Training:)

  1. bearrunner says:

    Thats an accomplishment running Boston, congrats!

    Cheers

  2. David Haas says:

    Hi,
    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?
    David

Leave a Reply

