Running Solo

Running was always a solo venture for me when I first started out on what eventually became my marathon mission. In the beginning, I had to squeeze in my runs between school, work and daycare pick up. I had to plan out babysitting for race days. There was no time to worry about coordinating anyone else’s schedule. I was lucky to get to run at all!

I ran because I loved to be outside and I loved the freedom I felt to just take off with no particular destination and no distractions from the outside world. In fact, most of the time, no one knew exactly where I was, and I would find myself several miles from home before I would finally decide to make my way back. It made me feel invincible at a time in my life when I truly had only myself to rely on.

As much as I am not a fan of  New Year’s Resolutions, I am going to resolve to find that freedom again and to cherish my solo runs again. I began this journey for no particular reason other than just to be healthy and have some “me” time. I have since set goals and achieved and exceeded those goals. Now, it’s time to get back to finding my freedom again. Running solo, running free, and loving every minute of it!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

