Injury Management

Training for a race while suffering from an injury is grueling! It’s super important to make sure you focus on the positives along the way. Today, I had a very satisfying training run. I wasn’t in pain. I had to cut it short to avoid the pain, but the distance I ran felt great. Of course, my de-conditioning shows over the course of many weeks where I have either skipped runs or  shortened  them. or worse yet, just lowered my training expectations overall.

So I celebrate the small victory today. I ran and it didn’t hurt. I had a decent pace and it was very easy to maintain. On days like today, I have hope for a successful marathon! Boston is just 4 weeks out and while I know that this will not be the race I had hoped for, I feel confident I can complete it and that is more than I could have said a few weeks ago!

It is so easy to get wrapped up into our story. And lately, my story has been about my bulging discs and my pain. This past week, I have felt tremendously better and therefore put much less thought into my back and my pain and my marathon. It becomes exhausting and obsessive and eventually it can become all you talk about.

I am glad to feel better and talk about myself less. It’s time to focus on healing and staying healthy. Positive thoughts. Pleasant smiles. Satisfying runs!

About judithisbell

Judith is a physical fitness professional offering advice and anecdotes about healthy lifestyles.
This entry was posted in Health category, Henrico, marathon, Richmond, Running category, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

